Stimulating curiosity and exceptional experiences

Everybody remembers the first contact with the International Ocean Discovery Program – or the previous programs DSDP, ODP or IODP, if it is in the repository, at sea or at the occasion of one of the program´s training formats. Most participating scientists did not only find international collaborators and identify a specific research field that is tied to one (or more) of the more than 400 research expeditions since 1968. Many have made life-long friendships as well.

IODP as international and multidisciplinary ocean drilling program, expedition’s science operators and Co-chief scientists ensure that researchers of all career levels will be involved for a given expedition when inviting applicants.

Sahra Greve and Amy Hagen are both PhD students, Exp. 389 is their first participation in an IODP expedition.

“As a PhD candidate just beginning my science career, getting the opportunity to participate in IODP Expedition 389 has been a wonderful and formative experience. I knew I would be stepping out of my comfort zone coming here, as I mostly focus on older rocks for my research and have never worked on coral before. But reading the cruise description stimulated my curiosity so I took a chance and applied. So far, my experience during the OSP has been instrumental in building technical skills, interpersonal skills, and self-confidence,” says Amy Hagen from Virginia Tech (USA).

And Sahra Greve from the University of Heidelberg (Germany) agrees: “Being part of this expedition is a great experience for me, especially so early in my career. I’m now in the second year of my PhD Project and already meeting so many experts in my field of science and getting to be part of such a big project. When I first applied for the expedition I was just a couple of months into my PhD project, but my supervisor told me it would be a great opportunity and that I should just apply and see what would come of it. At that time, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I had heard about IODP and through my bachelor and master degree here in Bremen I had learned a lot about them. But actually being part of that is a great adventure for me.”

Both Amy and Sahra cherish the opportunity to concentrate on this expedition – and to collaborate with colleagues and experts of all career levels in their field.

Amy Hagen: “I am learning so much about how to work with cores – how to cut and allocate samples, how to identify different sedimentary and biological components, and how to measure their geochemical characteristics. It would be hard to find a substitute for this level of hands-on experience with such valuable material. Here at the OSP, it is critical that we work together to process and sample all our cores, so I have been getting lots of practice working closely with different people.”

Sahra Greve: “It is great having so many people, all experts in their own field, working together and for me it is really interesting to see different methods and approaches. I’m building very valuable connections and also friendships that will most definitely be important in my future career. And everyone is so supporting and helping me out on things that I have no experience in, it’s a really great community. I did know a couple of people beforehand, because I’m also part of a German wide program on coral reef science. So, coming here knowing some of the people I’ll be working with for three weeks was a bit easier but everybody has been so welcoming and truly making this an exceptional experience for me.”

And Amy Hagen adds: “It has been wonderful getting to meet and share this experience with so many people from around the world. One of the biggest things I will take away from my role in Exp. 389 is a greater sense of self-confidence. It can be hard being a young woman in science, but here I feel that my voice is heard and respected. When we make group decisions, everyone is encouraged to voice their opinion. We are truly committed to collaborating and producing the best science possible, and everyone has an important role.”

Sahra and Amy will closely work with the whole IODP Exp 389 Science Party, and both are excited about the opportunity to collaborate in a team for years to come and to build a career based on their experiences made.

Sahra Greve (left) taking samples with Yusuke Yokoyama. Both Sahra and Amy Hagen (picture above) are working in the sampling lab during IODP Exp 389 Onshore science Party, though on opposite shifts. Photos: Diekamp@ECORD_IODP/Parker@ECORD_IODP

Leave a comment