Communicating Science Offshore

Marely Parker (Offshore Science Communicator) during Expedition 389. Credits: C. Easterling, ECORD/IODP.

By Nancy Prouty, Marisa Rydzy and Chloe Easterling

Offshore Science Communicator may be Marley Parker’s job title, but for her, producing compelling stories about science isn’t just a job – it’s a passion.  And Parker is certainly passionate about her work, evident in the numerous months she spends working on ships to capture stories and images of ocean research, scientists, and life at sea.

“I blend storytelling and imagery”, explains Parker.  “I like start to start at the beginning, helping scientists tap into their own passion.” 

Parker’s work captures not only the professional side of the scientists she works with, but the human side as well, showcasing their desire to collect accurate data, as well as their quirks and unique personalities.

“For me, expedition work is all about the people – the scientists really make the experience,” she says. “It’s not where you are or what you are doing – it’s who you are with.”

On this expedition, Parker has enjoyed working with a diverse, international team – learning snippets of German from Luzie Schnieders and Alex Wülbers, chatting with Jody Webster about reef systems around the world, and discussing future expeditions in the Indian Ocean with Pankaj Khanna.

“I focus on the subject – the quiet moment, the action, the expression,” she says. Similarly, her writing is also focused on the subject. 

While Parker is a professional photographer and videographer, writing was her first storytelling medium. She started writing stories about adventures to exotic places when she was seven-years-old, including sailing to remote islands and exploring volcanoes.  

But she had no idea her creativity and curiosity would lead to a career in science communications.

“I didn’t even know this type of work existed. Right after college, I thought I might work for MTV,” Parker laughs.  “But when I was a kid, my mom gave me a book that included hundreds of photos of dolphins and whales – and I was obsessed with it – so maybe I’ve just come full circle”. 

Parker reflects on the wild ride of her career often. Through stories on her blog and frequent speaking engagements, she hopes to inspire others to follow their passion, even it involves pursuing a non-traditional career path.  

“Stay true to yourself,” she says. “I wish I could go back in time to tell my seven-year-old self that the adventure stories she was writing would become her reality.”

At sea, you rarely find Parker in a moment of stillness. Because she can’t be mountaineering or exploring alpine environments, Parker puts in miles on the ship’s treadmill. 

“I could never sail without my running shoes,” she says.  “Or my e-reader”. That’s when the whirlwind that is Marley Parker calms down. An avid reader, she devours numerous books off shift. On Expedition 389, she is even credited with starting a neighborhood library and shipmate book club.  

Having left the MAA Valour during the half-way port call (for another offshore gig obviously), her absence is felt.

“Out at sea, the passage of time often feels like a rubber band,” Parker says. “Our days can stretch out and feel so long, then the rubber band snaps and suddenly the expedition over.”

This expedition is unique, however, in that once we complete the offshore phase at the end of October, we will regroup with the rest of the science party and Marley in Bremen, Germany in February.

Because Parker specializes in documenting activities offshore, the Onshore Science Party will be a new experience.

“I’ve never had the opportunity to document scientists processing their samples after the expedition is over,” she says. “But I’m really excited to work with the whole team in Germany. Instead of saying farewell, I get to say, ‘I’ll see y’all in a few months!’”

Leave a comment